Recognizing Abuse & Neglect

What is Child Abuse?

To help prevent child abuse, you need to understand what it is. It's any mistreatment of a child that results in harm or injury. There are five basic types of child abuse, though children often experience more than one kind of abuse.

Physical Abuse

Physical abuse includes actions such as beating, burning, or punching a child. Read more

Emotional Abuse

Emotional abuse may involve criticizing, insulting, rejecting, or withholding love from a child. Read more

Sexual Abuse

Sexual abuse includes rape, touching or fondling, or involving a child in pornography. Read more


Neglect includes failure to provide for a child's basic physical, medical, or emotional needs. Leaving a young child home alone or failing to provide needed medical care may also be considered neglect. Read more

Human Trafficking

Human trafficking is modern-day slavery. Its victims are controlled and exploited for profit. Forced labor, sexual exploitation, and prostitution are the most common types of human trafficking. Read more

How to Report Abuse

In Texas, you have two ways to report child abuse or neglect. [learn more]

Follow Us

Help us spread the word about Help and Hope!